TCPalm: Nine unopposed Treasure Coast candidates elected as Friday's qualifying deadline passes

Article Posted on June 22, 2018

By: Lisa Broadt, Treasure Coast Newspapers

Nine Treasure Coast city, county and Indian River County Hospital District candidates were elected or re-elected without opposition at noon Friday, the final opportunity to qualify as a 2018 candidate in the August elections.

Martin, St. Lucie and Indian River counties, as well as municipalities in Martin and St. Lucie counties  — including Stuart, Fort Pierce, Port St. Lucie and Sewall’s Point — and the Indian River County Hospital District will hold primary or general elections Aug. 28.

Orchid, Fellsmere, Sebastian, Vero Beach and Indian River Shores — the Indian River municipalities — will hold general elections Nov. 6, with a qualifying deadline of Sept. 9.

Martin County

In the only uncontested city or county race in Martin County, Stuart City Commissioner Eula Clarke was automatically re-elected to her fourth term on the City Commission, Group 5, according to the City Clerk's office. Clarke will serve a two-year term with an $18,000 salary…

Click here to view original article